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Statistical Note: Due to rounding, data in the tables in this report may not add up exactly
to the totals indicated.
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Executive Summary
DUI in Utah Fiscal Year 2014

DUI-Related Fatalities in Calendar Year 2013

From CY 2012 to CY 2013, DUI/alcohol-related fatalities in Utah increased from
20 to 23 and DUI/drug-related fatalities increased from 37 to 45.

Law Enforcement: Arrests

There were 10,901 DUI arrests in FY 2014, 1,326 fewer than in the previous
year. This represents a decrease of nearly 11 percent.

Eighty-one percent of the arrests were for per se violations that included driving
under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or both.

Arrests included 1,296 made during specialized DUI overtime enforcement

events such as enforcement blitzes, saturation patrols, and DUI sobriety
checkpoints that involved 102 law enforcement agencies throughout the state.

During the specialized DUI overtime enforcement events, officers observed and
documented 1,195 designated drivers.

Almost 55 percent of all DUI arrests were made by municipal law
enforcement agencies.

Seventy-two percent of DUI arrestees were male.

Almost 12 percent of arrestees were under the legal drinking age of 21 and the
youngest arrestee was 14 years old.
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a The average blood alcohol content (BAC) for arrestees was .14, the highest was
44, over five times the legal limit.

a The majority of DUI arrests occurred along the Wasatch Front with Weber,
Davis, Salt Lake and Utah Counties accounting for nearly 72 percent of the total.

a While Utah’s population has continued to grow, the DUI arrest rate has declined
steadily, with a nearly 36 percent decrease since FY 2009.

a Seventy percent of arrests were for a first DUI offense, 19 percent were for a

second offense, almost seven percent were for a third offense, and four percent
were for a fourth or subsequent offense.

a From CY 2012 to CY 2013, the percentage of total crash fatalities that were
DUl/alcohol-related increased from 9.2 percent to 10.5 percent.

a From CY 2012 to CY 2013, the percentage of total crash fatalities that were
DUl/drug-related increased from 17.1 percent to 20.5 percent.

Courts: Adjudications and Sanctions

a In FY 2014, there were 8,360 DUI cases in Utah’s Justice Courts. Among the
cases resolved, 57 percent resulted in a guilty plea or verdict.

a In FY 2014, there were 2,104 DUI cases disposed by the state’s District Courts.
Among the cases resolved, almost 72 percent resulted in a guilty plea or verdict.

Driver License Control

a The Driver License Division conducted 4,464 hearings in FY 2014 to determine

if there was sufficient information to warrant the suspension or revocation of the
individual’'s driver license.

Assessment, Education and Treatment

a Justice Court judges ordered offenders to undergo a substance use disorder

screening and assessment in 3,826 cases, ordered an educational series in
2,494 cases, and ordered substance use disorder treatment in 2,156 cases.

a District Court judges ordered offenders to undergo a substance use disorder

screening and assessment in 622 cases, ordered an educational series in 258
cases, and ordered substance use disorder treatment in 616 cases.




TWELFTH ANNUAL DUI REPORT TO THE UTAH LEGISLATURE

Introduction

“Um angered. cfhe simple message is don 't
drive deunk. Uf you want to have a few
drinks, please stay home, get a designated
driver . . . this guy was way out of control
and it’s not fair. U’ sad and it’s going to
affect our family for a very long time. ”
Matt Jhuber

Introduction

around him. On Saturday, January 25, 2014, Zane and his 6-year-old brother Holden were on

their way home with their dad, Matt Thurber. At about 8:32 p.m., they were stopped at a red light
at the intersection of 1300 West and 5400 South in
Taylorsville, when a Dodge Ram pickup truck
slammed into the back of their Subaru Legacy,
causing a chain reaction crash with three other
vehicles stopped in front of them. It has been
estimated that the driver of the pickup, 45-year-old
Manuel de Jesus Guinea, was traveling between 60-
70 miles per hour in the 45 mph zone, and may have
braked about one second prior to the crash.

Z ane Thurber had a zest for life and at the age of three was just beginning to discover the world

Almost everyone involved in the crash was injured;
Matt Thurber and his son Holden were hospitalized.
Little Zane died at the scene, having been killed
upon impact.

Zane Anthony Thurber

Witnesses reported Guinea was driving erratically, 2010 - 2014

weaving in and out of traffic at a high rate of speed,
and some were in the process of calling 911 when
the crash occurred. After the crash, Guinea exited
his vehicle and tried to blend in with others and leave
the scene. He was restrained until the police arrived
by bystanders who reported he “reeked of alcohol”.
Several unopened cans of beer were found in his
truck. He was arrested and booked into the Salt Lake
County Jail for investigation of automobile homicide
and driving under the influence.

Manuel de Jesus Guinea was charged with killing 3-year-old Zane Thurber and injuring at least nine other
people while driving under the influence of alcohol. Tests at different points in time indicated he had a
blood alcohol content (BAC) of .20-.24, approaching or at three times the legal limit. On September 8,
2014 Guinea pled guilty to automobile homicide, a second degree felony. In exchange for his plea, the
nine counts of DUI for the individuals who suffered injuries as a result of the crash, class A misdemeanors
and one third degree felony for serious bodily injury, were dropped. Guinea is scheduled to be sentenced
on November 7, 2014 and faces up to 15 years in prison. In addition, because he is believed to be in the
country illegally, Guinea also faces possible deportation when he is released from prison.

Information for this story was obtained from the Salt Lake County District Attorney’s Office and articles in the Deseret News,
The Salt Lake Tribune, and reports on the ksl.com website.
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Purpose of the Report

The Twelfth Annual Driving Under the Influence Report to the Utah Legislature was
prepared in accordance with 841-6a-511 of the Utah Code. The statute requires the
Utah Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice to prepare an annual report of DUI
related data, including the following:

= Data collected by the state courts to allow sentencing and enhancement
decisions to be made in accordance with violations involving driving
under the influence of alcohol and/or other drugs;

= Data collected by the justice courts (same DUI related data elements
collected by the state courts); and

= Any measures for which data are available to evaluate the profile and
impacts of DUI recidivism and to evaluate the DUI related processes of:

law enforcement;
adjudication;
sanctions;

driver license control; and

O O O O O

alcohol education, assessment, and treatment.
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2014 DUI and Related Legislation

The following bills and appropriation were passed by
the Utah Legislature in the 2014 General Session:

H.B. 15

H.B. 40

H.B. 190

i
iy,

Driver License Suspension Amendments
Representative Douglas V. Sagers

This bill requires the Driver License Division to shorten a person’s
one- or two-year license suspension or denial period that is currently
in effect for certain alcohol related offenses to a six-month period if:
the driver was under the age of 19 at the time of arrest; the offense
was a first offense that was committed prior to May 14, 2013; and the
suspension or denial was based on the same occurrence upon which
certain written verifications are based.

Grants the Driver License Division rulemaking authority to make rules
establishing requirements for acceptable documentation to shorten a
person’s driver license suspension or denial period in certain
circumstances.

Requires a person to pay the license reinstatement fees if a person’s
license sanction is shortened.

Beer Excise Tax Revenue Amendments
Representative Jack R. Draxler

This bill expands the scope of the Alcoholic Beverage Enforcement
and Treatment Restricted Account to become the Alcoholic Beverage
and Substance Abuse Enforcement and Treatment Restricted
Account.

Modifies definition provisions regarding “prevention” and encourages
the most effective formula allocation in relationship to prevention.

Addresses preparation of forms and grants rulemaking authority.

Breathalyzer Amendments
Representative Gregory Hughes

This bill defines terms and addresses installation or provision of
breathalyzers on the premises of retail licensees.
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H.B. 291

Requires a retail licensee to post in a conspicuous location by the
breathalyzer: a notice to the user of the breathalyzer that the timing
of when a breathalyzer test is taken may affect the results of the
breathalyzer test; and a notice that states “The National
Transportation Safety Board has found that crash risk is consistently
and significantly elevated by the time an individual reaches a blood
alcohol content of 0.05.”

State Laboratory Drug Testing Account
Amendments
Representative Ronda Rudd Menlove

This bill increases the administrative fee for license reinstatement
after an alcohol-related or drug-related offense (from $170 to $230).

Increases the amount deposited in the State Laboratory Drug Testing
Account from the Department of Public Safety Restricted Account.

Requires the Department of Public Safety to report to the Department
of Health annually the amount the Department of Public Safety
expects to collect from administrative fees for license reinstatement in
the next fiscal year.

Appropriates in fiscal year 2014-2015: to the Department of Health —
Disease Control and Prevention as an ongoing appropriation: from
the General Fund Restricted — State Laboratory Drug Testing
Account/Forensic Toxicology, $228,300.

Appropriation

Alcoholic Beverage and Substance Abuse Enforcement and Treatment
Restricted Account

The 2014 Legislature appropriated $5,386,400 to the Alcoholic
Beverage and Substance Abuse Enforcement and Treatment
Restricted Account (832B-2-401) for FY 2015. Funding from this
account is distributed annually on a formula basis to Utah’s
municipalities and counties to be used for one or more of the following
alcohol- and/or substance abuse-related purposes: (1) prevention/
education; (2) treatment of offenders; (3) law enforcement, including
DUI; (4) prosecution; and (5) confinement of offenders.
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USAAV DUI Committee

The Utah Substance Abuse Advisory Council maintains a DUI m
Committee whose members represent state and local agencies

and organizations dealing with the DUI issue in Utah. The

Utah Substance Abuse
Advisory Council

Committee works closely with the Legislature to recommend
and review proposed legislation that will strengthen Utah’s ability
to more effectively address the DUI problem.

USAAYV DUI Committee Membership

Senator Stuart Adams

Senator
Utah State Senate

David Beach

Director, Utah Highway Safety Office
Utah Department of Public Safety

Edward Berkovich

Traffic Safety Resource Prosecutor
Utah Prosecution Council

Bart Blackstock

Citizen Member and Former Deputy Director of the
Driver License Division, Utah Department of Public Safety

Paul Boyden, Chair

Executive Director
Statewide Association of Prosecutors

Art Brown Representative of DUI Victims, Past President of the
Utah Chapter of Mothers Against Drunk Driving
Patty Fox Probation Program Manager

Salt Lake County Criminal Justice Services

Colonel Daniel Fuhr

Superintendent, Utah Highway Patrol
Utah Department of Public Safety

Kim Gibb, Vice Chair

Records Bureau Chief, Driver License Division
Utah Department of Public Safety

Chief Wayne Hansen

Farmington Police Department
Utah Chiefs of Police Association

Linda Mayne

Education Specialist for Driver Education
Utah State Office of Education

Doug Murakami

Director of Alcohol Education
Utah Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control

Sheriff Frank Park

Tooele County Sheriff’s Office
Utah Sheriffs Association

Teri Pectol

Impaired Driving/Youth Alcohol Program Manager, Utah
Highway Safety Office, Utah Department of Public Safety

Rick Schwermer

Assistant State Court Administrator
Administrative Office of the Courts

Holly Watson

Substance Abuse Education Program Manager
Utah Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health

Mary Lou Emerson, Director Utah Substance Abuse Advisory Council
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Law
Enforcement

Law Enforcement

The Utah Department of Public Safety, through its Driver License Division and Highway
Safety Office, collects information on all DUI arrests. In FY 2014, law enforcement
officers made 10,901 DUI arrests. This was 1,326 fewer than in FY 2013, representing
a decrease of nearly 11 percent, and a 16 percent decrease since FY 2012.

DUI Arrests

DUI Arrests by Violation Type

As illustrated in the following table, the distribution of DUI arrests by type of violation in
FY 2014 was very similar to previous years. Eighty-one percent of the arrests were for
per se violations where the driver had a .08 or greater blood/breath alcohol
concentration, or was impaired by alcohol, drugs, or a combination of the two to the
extent it was unsafe to operate a vehicle. Under Utah law, drivers are considered to
have given consent to tests of breath, blood, urine, or oral fluids to determine whether
they are driving under the influence of alcohol or other drugs. Eleven percent of arrests
were for refusal to submit to a chemical test. It is also illegal to drive with any
measurable controlled substance metabolite in one’s body, which accounted for one
percent of arrests. Violations of the Not a Drop statute, by persons under the age of 21
who drove with any measurable alcohol concentration in their body, accounted for 4.3
percent of the arrests. The fewest arrests were of commercial drivers exceeding the
.04 limit, which represented only 0.2 percent of the total.

DUI Arrests by FY 2012 FY 2013 FY 2014 Eﬁg’ne”;
Violation Type Number | Percent | Number | Percent | Number Percent | FY 134:% 14
Per se Alcohol/Drug 10,911 83.7% 9,872 80.7% 8,870 81.4% -10.1%
Refusal of Chemical Test 1,350 10.4% 1,415 11.6% 1,231 11.3% -13.0%
Not a Drop (< 21) 594 4.6% 547 4.5% 472 4.3% -13.7%
Drug Metabolite 149 1.1% 191 1.6% 142 1.3% -25.6%
Commercial Driver (.04) 27 0.2% 17 0.1% 26 0.2% | +52.9%
Unknown (no box marked) 0 0.0% 185 1.5% 160 1.5% -13.5%
TOTAL 13,031 | 100.0% | 12,227 | 100.0% | 10,901 | 100.0% -10.8%
Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division
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DUI Overtime Enforcement Events

The arrests made in FY 2014 included those that occurred as a result of specialized
DUI overtime enforcement events such as enforcement blitzes, saturation patrols, and
DUI checkpoints. A portion of the DUI impound fees collected was specifically
designated to fund the overtime shifts, which were coordinated through the Utah
Highway Safety Office. During FY 2014, 102 law enforcement agencies throughout the
state participated in overtime events, including local police agencies, sheriffs’ offices,
the Utah Highway Patrol, Motor Vehicle Enforcement, Utah Parks and Recreation, Utah
Wildlife Resources, and two university police departments. The table below shows the
measures associated with DUI overtime enforcement events in FY 2014. Of the total
1,296 DUI arrests, 946 were for alcohol, 250 were for other drugs, and 100 were for
drug metabolite.

Statewide DUI Overtime Percent Change
Enforcement Events S AUZ | P20 | (R FY 13-FY 14
DUI Shifts Worked 2,116 2,306 3,320 +44.0%
Vehicles Stopped 19,313 26,306 36,918 +40.3%
DUI Arrests 972 996 1,296 +30.1%
Vehicles Impounded 915 629 279 -55.6%
Alcohol-Related Arrests* 566 634 1,019 +60.7%
Drug-Related Arrests** 468 489 812 +66.0%
Warrants Served 384 424 645 +52.1%
Other Warnings/Citations 17,425 21,370 32,920 +54.0%
Designated Drivers Observed and Documented 1,195 NA
Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office

*Includes open container (598) and underage/youth alcohol violations (421 — e.g., possession, consumption, attempted
purchase, Not a Drop)

**Eelony and misdemeanor (e.g., drug possession)

DUI Arrests by Agency Type
Nearly 55 percent of all DUI arrests in FY 2014 were made by municipal law
enforcement agencies, with the Utah Highway Patrol responsible for 33 percent,

and county sheriffs’ offices responsible for almost 12 percent.

DUI Arrests by FY 2012 FY 2013 FY 2014
Agency Type Number | Percent | Number | Percent | Number Percent
Sheriffs’ Offices 1,873 | 14.4% | 1,439 11.8% 1,295 11.9%
City Police/Other 6,586 | 50.5% | 6,542 | 53.5% 5,978 54.8%
Highway Patrol 4572 | 35.1% | 4,246| 34.7% 3,628 33.3%
TOTAL 13,031 | 100.0% | 12,227 | 100.0% | 10,901 | 100.0%
Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division

DUI Arrests by Gender
The table on the following page shows the proportions of male and female
arrestees have remained fairly constant over the past three years. In FY 2014,

72 percent of arrestees were male and almost 27 percent were female.

10
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FY 2012 FY 2013 FY 2014
DUI Arrests by Gender ‘Number | Percent | Number | Percent | Number | Percent
Male 9,448 725% | 8,753 | 71.6% | 7,887 72.3%
Female 3,539 27.2% | 3,369 | 27.5% | 2,907 26.7%
Unspecified 44 0.3% 105 0.9% 107 1.0%
TOTAL 13,031 | 100.0% | 12,227 | 100.0% | 10,901 | 100.0%

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division

DUI Arrests by Age

The youngest DUI arrestees in FY 2014 were 14 years old, and the oldest were 82-
84 years of age. Nearly 12 percent of arrestees were under the legal drinking age
of 21. Drivers ages 25-36 accounted for nearly 39 percent of all arrests for DUI.

FY 2012 FY 2013 FY 2014
DUI Arrests by Age Number | Percent | Number | Percent | Number | Percent
Age Unknown 4| <0.1% 0 0.0% 0 0.0%
Ages 14-20 1,046 80% | 1,460 | 11.9% | 1,275 11.7%
Ages 21-24 2271 | 17.4% | 2,144 | 175% 1,888 | 17.3%
Ages 25-36 5275| 40.5% | 4,838 | 39.6% | 4,213 | 38.6%
Ages 37-48 2,612 | 20.0% | 2,231 | 18.3% | 2,120| 19.4%
Ages 49-84 1,823 | 14.0% | 1,554 | 12.7% | 1,405| 13.0%
TOTAL 13,031 | 100.0% | 12,227 | 100.0% | 10,901 | 100.0%

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division

DUI Arrests by Blood/Breath Alcohol Concentration (BAC)

The average BAC in FY 2014 was .14 (median BAC was also .14), the same as in
previous years. The highest BAC recorded was .44, over five times the legal limit!

FY 2012 FY 2013 FY 2014
DUI Arrests by BAC Number | Percent | Number | Percent | Number | Percent
BAC Results Not Reported | 4,929* | 37.8% | 4,573* | 37.4% | 4,127* | 37.9%
.00 - .07 763 5.9% 528 4.3% 544 5.0%
.08 - .10 1,334 | 10.2% | 1,043 8.5% | 1,009 9.3%
A1 -.15 2,457 | 189% | 2,160 | 17.7% | 1,875| 17.2%
.16 - .20 1,614 | 124% | 1,589 | 13.0% | 1,248 | 11.4%
21-.25 729 5.6% 659 5.4% 592 5.4%
.26 - .44 312 2.4% 265 2.2% 276 2.5%
Refused BAC Test 276 21% | 1,410, 11.5% | 1,230| 11.3%
No Test/Unknown 617 4.7% Not Available Not Available
Drug Only 0 0.0% Not Available Not Available
TOTAL 13,031 | 100.0% | 12,227 | 100.0% | 10,901 | 100.0%

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division
*Arrestee may have submitted to a blood test, but the Driver License Division never received the results, or this was a
DUl/drug-related arrest and there was no BAC.

11
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According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), to reach a BAC of
.14, a 160-pound man would need to consume between five and seven beers within
one hour (see table below).*

Some likely effects on driving

The number of beers

0 . . ) ) . listed represents the
15% * Serious difficulty controlling the car and focusing on driving ppmx,-,?,ate amount
About 7 beers of alcohol that a
160-pound man would
10% * Markedly slowed reaction time need to drink in one
. f A ; hour to reach the listed
T « Difficulty staying in lane and braking when needed B
_08% ¢ Trouble controlling speed

About 4 beers o Difficulty processing information and reasoning

.05% * Reduced coordination and ability to track moving objects

o Difficulty steerin,
About 3 beers ty €

) * Loss of judgment
.02% e Trouble doing two tasks at the same time

Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) Levels

About 2 beers

Adapted from The ABCs of BAC, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 2005, and How to Control
Your Drinking, WR Miller and RF Munoz, University of New Mexico, 1982.

DUI Arrests by Month

As in previous years, DUI arrests remained fairly consistent throughout FY 2014, with
an average of 908 arrests per month. The highest number of arrests occurred in
August (1,055), with the lowest number of arrests in April (816).

FY 2012 FY 2013 FY 2014
DUI Arrests by Month Number | Percent | Number | Percent | Number | Percent
July 1,309 | 10.0% | 1,055 8.6% 973 8.9%
August 1,086 8.3% | 1,052 8.6% | 1,055 9.7%
September 1,188 9.1% | 1,058 8.6% 932 8.5%
October 1,190 9.1% 956 7.8% 909 8.3%
November 1,019 7.8% | 1,041 8.5% 983 9.0%
December 1,065 8.2% | 1,138 9.3% 871 8.0%
January 1,016 7.8% 915 7.5% 825 7.6%
February 1,022 7.8% | 1,006 8.3% 859 7.9%
March 1,067 8.2% | 1,210 9.9% 998 9.2%
April 992 7.6% 862 7.1% 816 7.5%
May 1,052 8.1% 986 8.1% 860 7.9%
June 1,025 7.9% 948 7.7% 820 7.5%
TOTAL 13,031 | 100.0% | 12,227 | 100.0% | 10,901 | 100.0%

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division

! Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Vitalsigns, Drinking and Driving: A Threat to Everyone, October
2011.
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DUI Arrests by County
Consistent with past years, the majority of DUI arrests during FY 2014 occurred along
the Wasatch Front with Weber, Davis, Salt Lake and Utah Counties accounting for
nearly 72 percent (7,811) of the total. Salt Lake County had the highest number of

arrests with 4,452 (40.8%), while Wayne County had the fewest arrests with one

(.01%). The table below also compares the percentage of DUI arrests to the
percentage of both total population and vehicle miles traveled in each county.

DUI Arrests Utiﬂl}égbﬁloalt?on Vehicle Miles Traveled
County FY 2014 . Calendar Year 2013
Estimates

Number | Percent Number Percent Number Percent
Beaver 49 0.45% 6,459 0.22% 264,273,530 0.98%
Box Elder 130 1.19% 50,794 1.75% 895,366,745 3.31%
Cache 319 2.93% 116,909 4.03% 880,249,558 3.26%
Carbon 65 0.60% 20,988 0.72% 310,210,602 1.15%
Daggett 4 0.04% 1,127 0.04% 30,980,594 0.11%
Davis 819 7.51% 322,094 | 11.10% | 2,538,778,040 9.40%
Duchesne 148 1.36% 20,308 0.70% 278,837,297 1.03%
Emery 68 0.62% 10,749 0.37% 351,741,796 1.30%
Garfield 17 0.16% 5,083 0.18% 108,004,544 0.40%
Grand 93 0.85% 9,360 0.32% 334,853,328 1.24%
Iron 265 2.43% 46,780 1.61% 721,883,152 2.67%
Juab 74 0.68% 10,348 0.36% 391,200,663 1.45%
Kane 58 0.53% 7,260 0.25% 161,183,477 0.60%
Millard 64 0.59% 12,662 0.44% 490,465,889 1.82%
Morgan 18 0.16% 10,173 0.35% 131,337,257 0.49%
Piute 3 0.03% 1,510 0.05% 28,071,707 0.10%
Rich 15 0.14% 2,288 0.08% 49,105,907 0.18%
Salt Lake 4,452 | 40.84% | 1,079,721 | 37.22% | 8,881,223,683 | 32.88%
San Juan 68 0.62% 14,973 0.52% 312,364,995 1.16%
Sanpete 63 0.58% 28,237 0.97% 210,754,236 0.78%
Sevier 161 1.48% 20,852 0.72% 311,210,506 1.15%
Summit 239 2.19% 38,486 1.33% 745,619,650 2.76%
Tooele 354 3.25% 60,762 2.09% 818,748,872 3.03%
Uintah 247 2.26% 35,555 1.23% 419,416,805 1.55%
Utah 1,526 | 14.00% 551,891 | 19.03% | 3,956,113,485| 14.64%
Wasatch 155 1.42% 26,437 0.91% 333,402,298 1.23%
Washington 412 3.78% 147,800 5.10% | 1,405,655,035 5.20%
Wayne 1 0.01% 2,747 0.09% 47,544,289 0.18%
Weber 1,014 9.30% 238,519 8.22% | 1,606,147,960 5.95%
TOTAL 10,901 | 100.00% | 2,900,872 | 100.00% | 27,014,745,900 | 100.00%

Source for DUI Arrest Data: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division

Source for Population Data: U.S. Census Bureau, Population Division
Source for Vehicle Miles Traveled: Utah Department of Transportation
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DUI Arrest Rates by Population

The following table and figure illustrate the number of DUI arrests made in Utah by
fiscal year, compared to the state’s population. While Utah’s population has
continued to grow, the DUI arrest rate has declined steadily, with a nearly 36
percent decrease since FY 2009.

Utah DUI Arrests Compared to

Population FY 2005 - FY 2014 DUI Arrest Rates in Utah
Fiscal | pui | Population | DUl /7000 FY 2005 - FY 2014
Year Arrests €55 Of Arrest 60.00 -
July 1 Rate* '

2005 | 13,675 | 2,430,224 | 56.27 ||50.00

2006 | 14,138 | 2,505,844 | 56.42

2007 | 14,658 | 2,576,228 | 56.90 || *°%°

2008 | 15,297 | 2,636,077 | 58.03 ||30.00 -

2009 | 15,683 | 2,691,122 | 58.28

2010 | 15,285 | 2,731,558 | 55.96 | *®%° DUI Arrest Rate*

2011 | 13,816 | 2,774,663 | 49.79 ||10.00 |

2012 | 13,031 | 2,813,923 | 46.31

2013 | 12,227 | 2,852,589 | 42.86 || %@ ‘ ' ‘ ' ' ‘ ' ‘ ' '

2014 10,901 2,900,872 3758 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014

Source of DUI Arrest Data: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division
Source of Population Data: U.S. Census Bureau, Population Division
*DUI arrest rate is the number of DUI arrests per 10,000 people

Repeat DUI Offenders by Type of Arrest

The following table shows repeat offender data by type of DUI-related arrest. Data
were calculated by identifying arrests that occurred in FY 2014 as a starting point,
then counting back ten years to determine previous arrests. Each arrest was
placed in a column determined by the type of the arrest or violation. Seventy
percent of arrests were for a first offense, 19 percent were for a second offense,
nearly seven percent were for a third offense, and almost four percent were for a
fourth or subsequent offense.

FY 2014 | perse | Refusal o commercial | § xS
Arrest | Alcohol of R Drug Driver £38 TOTAL
Type | (.08)/ | Chemical (< 2f) Metabolite (04) fes
Offense Drug Test ' = Number | Percent
1t 6,309 712 432 118 23 55 | 7,649 | 70.17%
2nd 1,695 277 27 20 0 66 | 2,085 |19.13%
31 587 134 10 3 1 26 761 6.98%
4th 186 65 2 1 0 9 263 2.41%
5t 56 22 1 0 2 1 82 0.75%
6! 19 11 0 0 0 3 33 0.30%
7t 11 2 0 0 0 0 13 0.12%
8+ 7 8 0 0 0 0 15 0.14%
TOTAL 8,870 1,231 472 142 26 160 | 10,901 | 100.0%

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division
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DUI-Related Crashes, Injuries and Fatalities

DUI/Alcohol-Related Crashes, Injuries and Fatalities

REPORT TO THE UTAH LEGISLATURE

The following table shows the total number of DUI-related vehicle crashes involving
alcohol for each calendar year from 2004 to 2013, including the number of persons injured
and the number of persons killed as a result of the crashes. The number of DUI-related
fatalities involving drivers with a blood alcohol level of .08 or greater in Utah increased 15
percent, from 20 in calendar year 2012 to 23 in calendar year 2013.

DUI/Alcohol-Related Crashes, Injuries and Fatalities in Utah, CY 2004-2013

Crashes Injuries Fatalities

Ca¢endar Total DU/ Percent Tptal AIB(L)JPI{OI Percent Total DuUl/ Percent
e CIrERhes C?rla(lzsohheosl* AIE:)gll'n/ol Ilr;jrizer?s Plgjrgroer?s AIE:)gll'n/ol F;?fraTi?tir:es FaAtla(\:Iﬁiheosl** AIE(L)J r|1/0I
2004 53,905 1,948 3.6% 29,638 | 1,570 5.3% 296 56 18.9%
2005 54,938 1,977 3.6% 29,221 | 1,398 4.8% 282 22 7.8%
2006 56,187 2,488 4.4% 27,433 1,844 6.7% 287 39 13.6%
2007 61,245 2,718 4.4% 27,420 1,900 6.9% 299 42 14.0%
2008 56,367 2,330 4.1% 24,673 1,596 6.5% 276 34 12.3%
2009 51,367 2,019 3.9% 22,847 1,288 5.6% 244 31 12.7%
2010 49,368 1,723 3.5% 21,675 | 1,150 5.3% 253 25 9.9%
2011 52,287 1,662 3.2% 22,325 | 1,019 4.6% 243 39 16.0%
2012 50,600 1,727 3.4% 22,336 1,043 4.7% 217 20 9.2%
2013 55,637 1,736 3.1% 22,740 1,073 4.7% 220 23 10.5%

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office
*DUlI-related crashes include only those incidents that involved alcohol.
**DUI-related fatalities include only drivers with a BAC of = .08.

The figure below illustrates the trend in Utah’s DUI/alcohol-related crash fatalities
from calendar years 2004 through 2013.
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DUI/Drug-Related Crashes, Injuries and Fatalities

The following table shows the number of DUI-related vehicle crashes, injuries and
fatalities involving drugs only (no alcohol or BAC less than .08) for available years.
The most common types of drugs found in fatal drug-related crashes were
stimulants (methamphetamine, amphetamine), depressants (anti-anxiety drugs),
opiates (hydrocodone), and marijuana. The number of DUI/drug-related fatalities
increased nearly 22 percent, from 37 in CY 2012 to 45 in CY 2013. In addition,
DUI/drug-related fatalities in CY 2012 and CY 2013 were nearly double the number
of DUI/alcohol-related fatalities for the same years.

DUI/Drug-Related Crashes, Injuries and Fatalities in Utah, CY 2007-2013

Calendar Crashes Injuries Fatalities
Year | row [ g [ P | e S [Poet | dam [ oueng | Pgi
RS Crash%s* Drug Pejrsons Pejrsons Drug Fatalities ~ififes Drug
2007 61,245 158 0.3% 27,420 113 0.4% 299 16 5.4%
2008 56,367 565 1.0% 24,673 428 1.7% 276 12 4.3%
2009 51,367 547 1.1% 22,847 443 1.9% 244 36 14.8%
2010 49,368 525 1.1% 21,675 382 1.8% 253 26 10.3%
2011 52,287 603 1.1% 22,325 388 1.7% 243 30 12.3%
2012 50,600 548 1.1% 22,336 383 1.7% 217 37 17.1%
2013 55,637 567 1.0% 22,740 393 1.7% 220 45 20.5%

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office
*DUl/drug-related crashes include only those incidents that involved drugs and no alcohol.
**DUl/drug-related fatalities include only drivers who tested positive for drugs and had a BAC of < .08.

Note: Drug presence does not necessarily imply impairment. For many drug types, drug presence can be detected long after
any impairment that might affect driving has passed. Also, whereas the impairment effects for various concentration levels of
alcohol is well understood, little evidence is available to link concentrations of other drug types to driver performance.

The figure below illustrates the trend in Utah’s DUI/drug-related crash fatalities from
calendar years 2007 through 2013.

Percentage of Total Crash Fatalities That Were
DUI/Drug-Related in Utah, Calendar Years 2007-2013
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Rates of DUI-Related Fatalities by Population and Vehicle Miles Traveled
The following table shows the rates of DUI-related fatalities per 10,000 population and
per 100 million vehicle miles traveled in Utah, for calendar years 2004 through 2013.

Rates of DUI-Related Fatalities per 10,000 Population and
100 Million Vehicle Miles Traveled in Utah, Calendar Years 2004-2013
Calendar DUI- DUI-Related Fatality Rates DUI-Related Fatality Rates per
Year Related per 10,000 Population 100 Million Vehicle Miles Traveled
" Population Vehicle Miles
Fatalities* | a5 of July 1 REWS Traveled REE
2004 56 2,430,224 0.23 24,624,791,795 0.23
2005 22 2,505,844 0.09 25,129,538,952 0.09
2006 39 2,576,228 0.15 26,166,885,473 0.15
2007 42 2,636,077 0.16 26,824,244,333 0.16
2008 34 2,691,122 0.13 25,883,467,343 0.13
2009 31 2,731,558 0.11 26,217,108,843 0.12
2010 25 2,774,663 0.09 26,617,169,711 0.09
2011 39 2,813,923 0.14 26,379,900,505 0.15
2012 20 2,852,589 0.07 26,637,413,207 0.08
2013 23 2,900,872 0.08 27,014,745,900 0.09

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office
*DUI-related fatalities include only those incidents that involved alcohol and where the driver had a BAC of > .08.

The figure below illustrates the rates of DUI-related fatalities in Utah for calendar
years 2004 through 2013, per 100 million vehicle miles traveled. From CY 2012 to
CY 2013, the DUI-related fatality rate per 100 million vehicle miles traveled increased
slightly, from 0.08 to 0.09.

Rate Per 100 Million Vehicle Miles Traveled of
DUI-Related Fatalities in Utah, Calendar Years 2004-2013
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Use of State Beer Tax Funds for DUI Law Enforcement

The state’s beer tax funds have been used to support DUI enforcement, as well as other
alcohol-related enforcement, education/prevention and treatment activities. For FY
2014, the Legislature appropriated $5,463,800 to be distributed from the Alcoholic
Beverage and Substance Abuse Enforcement and Treatment Restricted Account
(832B-2-401) to municipalities and counties statewide on a formula basis.? Funds
could be spent in one or more of five general categories: (1) prevention/education;

(2) treatment of offenders; (3) law enforcement, including DUI; (4) prosecution of
offenders; and (5) confinement of offenders. In order to receive beer tax funds, eligible
municipalities and counties must submit an annual plan to the Utah Substance Abuse
Advisory (USAAV) Council prior to the beginning of the fiscal year. Municipalities and
counties receiving funding are also required to submit an annual report to the USAAV
Council by October 1% of each year, outlining how funds were utilized, whether the
programs or projects funded were effective, and certifying the funds were used in
accordance with the law. Those that do not submit their reports forfeit their funds for
the current fiscal year and the funds are allocated by the USAAV Council to other
entities.

With the passage of H.B. 40 — Beer Excise Tax Revenue Amendments, the 2014
Legislature amended the beer tax statute as follows (effective July 1, 2014):

= Expanded the scope of the Alcoholic Beverage Enforcement and Treatment
Restricted Account to become the Alcoholic Beverage and Substance
Abuse Enforcement and Treatment Restricted Account.

= Provided that “prevention” shall be defined by rule, by the Division of Substance
Abuse and Mental Health, that the definition shall include only evidence-based
or evidence-informed programs, and shall provide for coordination with local
substance abuse authorities designated to provide substance abuse services.

= Enacted the following intent language:

“It is the intent of the Legislature that the appropriations distributed under this
part be used to fund a balanced approach to reducing the harmful effects of
substance abuse, over consumption of alcoholic products by adults, and alcohol
consumption by minors. To this end, the Legislature encourages municipalities
and counties receiving money under this part to use the most effective formula
allocation to fund evidence-based and evidence-informed prevention programs.”

% In accordance with §32B-2-404 (UCA), the State Tax Commission distributes beer tax funds to municipalities
and counties in December of each year based upon the following formula: percentage of state population
residing in each municipality and county (25%); each municipality’s and county’s percentage of the statewide
convictions for all alcohol-related offenses (30%); the percentage of the following in the state that are located in
each municipality and county: state stores, package agencies, retail licensees, and off-premise beer retailers
(20%); and for confinement and treatment purposes (for persons arrested for or convicted of offenses in which
alcohol is a contributing factor) on the basis of the percentage of the state population located in each county
(25% to counties only).
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= Directed the Utah Substance Abuse Advisory Council to prepare forms for
municipalities and counties to utilize in applying for a distribution of beer tax

funds.

The table and figure below show how FY 2014 funds were utilized, including dollars
spent for each allowable activity, as reported in the Beer Tax Funds Annual Reports

submitted to the USAAYV Council.

FY 2014 Beer Tax Funds Reports '\égz:ﬁ'igzlﬁ'ﬁﬁz?:g Beer Tax Funding
How Funds Were Used Beer Tax Funds for Expended for Each
As of 10/14/2014 Each Activity Activity

166 Entities Reporting Number | Percent® Amount Percent
Alcohol-Related Prevention/Education 34 20.5% $164,339.20 3.1%
Treatment of Offenders with Alcohol Problems 10 6.0% $798,174.97 | 15.3%
Alcohol-Related Law Enforcement 129 77.7% | $2,784,395.23 | 53.4%
Prosecution of Alcohol-Related Cases 42 25.3% $448,439.74 8.6%
Confinement of Alcohol Law Offenders 27 16.3% | $1,020,171.24 | 19.6%
Totals | $5,215,520.38* | 100.0%

Source: Utah Substance Abuse Advisory Council, FY 2014 Beer Tax Funds Annual Reports

Uses of FY 2014 Beer Tax Funds (asof10/14/14)

$164,339

$1,020,171 $798,175
I

3

$448,440 19.56%

8.60%

$2,784,395

M Alcohol-Related
Prevention/Education

m Treatment of Offenders with
Alcohol Problems

Alcohol-Related Law Enforcement

Prosecution of Alcohol-Related
Cases

Confinement of Alcohol Law
Offenders

3 Recipients may use beer tax funds for more than one of the six categories outlined in the statute.

4 Of the total FY 2014 appropriation of $5,463,800, a net distribution of $5,462,156 was allocated via formula to
eligible municipalities and counties. The net distribution is determined after the Tax Commission subtracts a
fee of $6 per distribution from the total ($1,644 in FY 2014). In addition, the total amount of funding actually
expended may be less than the amount distributed because some municipalities and counties did not utilize all
of their funding during the fiscal year, in which case they may carry it over into the new fiscal year.
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Adjudications and Sanctions

DUI offenses are classified either as misdemeanors or felonies, depending on the type
of offense and whether it is a repeat offense. The Justice Courts, which are sponsored
by municipalities and counties, handle DUI offenses classified as class B
misdemeanors. DUI offenses classified as class A misdemeanors and felonies are
under the jurisdiction of the state’s District Courts. A DUI offense is classified as a class
A misdemeanor if it involves bodily injury, a passenger under 16, or a passenger under
18 if the driver is 21 or older. A DUI offense is classified as a third degree felony if it is a
third or subsequent offense within 10 years, if it involves serious bodily injury, or if the
person has any prior felony DUI conviction or automobile homicide conviction.

Justice Court DUI Data

Justice Court DUI Cases and Outcomes

The following table details the 8,360 DUI cases in the Justice Courts during FY 2014.
There were 663 fewer cases than in the previous year, a decrease of more than seven
percent. Fifty-seven percent of cases resulted in a guilty plea or verdict, with almost ten
percent dismissed or not guilty. This table does not represent the actual DUI conviction
rate, however, as it includes cases filed in previous fiscal years that were not resolved
until FY 2014. In addition, 2,791 cases were still pending resolution at the close of

FY 2014.

Justice Court DUI FY 2012 FY 2013 FY 2014 % Change
Case Outcomes Number | Percent | Number | Percent | Number | Percent P P L
Guilty 5,702 59.4% 5,205 57.7% 4,764 57.0% -8.5%
Dismissed or Not Guilty 870 9.1% 827 9.2% 805 9.6% -2.7%
Cases Pending 3,027 | 31.5% 2,991 | 33.1% 2,791 | 33.4% -6.7%
TOTAL 9,599 | 100.0% 9,023 | 100.0% 8,360 | 100.0% -7.3%

Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts

Justice Court Repeat DUI Offender Data
The Justice Courts also track how repeat DUI offenders are handled. In the table on
the following page, which includes data for fiscal years 2012, 2013 and 2014, the first
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column shows if the offender was charged as a first-time offender or a repeat offender.
The second column indicates how many of those in the first column actually met that
criterion. The last column shows how the offender was sentenced. In FY 2014 for
example, 16 percent of DUI offenders were charged with a second offense, while nearly
19 percent were actually second-time offenders, and 17 percent were sentenced as

second-time offenders. Discrepancies between charges and sentencing are not

unusual. An offender’s sentence is dependent upon the conviction, which may or may

not be the same as the offense charged due to plea bargains or court procedural

issues.

Justice Court Repeat DUI Offender Data for Fiscal Years 2012-2014°

Offense Was Offense Was Offense Was
Offense Charged As Actually Sentenced As
FY12 | FY13 | FY14 | FY12 | FY13 | FY14 | FY12 | FY 13 | FY 14
1% Offense | 84.4% | 84.7% | 80.0% | 82.1% | 82.2% | 80.2% | 83.7% | 83.6% | 82.4%
2" Offense | 15.3% | 15.2% | 16.5% | 17.0% | 16.8% | 18.6% | 16.0% | 16.0% | 17.3%
3'9 Offense 0.1% | 0.2% 15% | 0.6% | 0.7% | 0.8% | 0.2% | 0.3% | 0.2%
4" Offense | <0.1% | 0.0% 1.3% | 0.1% | 0.2% | 0.2% | <0.1% | 0.1% | 0.1%
th
5 S;fgr:g:ter 0.1% | 0.0% | 0.7% | 0.2% | 0.1% | 0.2% | <0.1% | 0.0% | 0.0%
TOTAL 100% | 100% | 100% | 100% | 100% | 100% | 100% | 100% | 100%

Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts

Justice Court DUI Case Information and Sanctions
Additional DUI-related case information collected by the Justice Courts is shown in the
table below. The table includes data for those Justice Courts in the Courts Information
System (CORIS). The data indicate in FY 2014 judges ordered offenders to participate
in an educational series in 2,494 cases, ordered substance use disorder treatment in
2,156 cases, and that ignition interlock devices were ordered in 728 cases.

Justice Court DUI Case Information and Sanctions | FY 2012 | FY 2013 | FY 2014
Number of Justice Courts Providing Data 119 121 117
Blood/Breath Alcohol Content (BAC) Known 3,621 3,224 | 3,130
Substance Use Disorder Screening and Assessment 3,794 3,456 | 3,826
Substance Use Disorder Treatment Ordered 2,409 2,144 | 2,156
Educational Series Ordered 3,066 2,629 | 2,494
Ignition Interlock Ordered 831 767 728
Supervised (Non-Court) Probation 1,916 1,760 | 1,505
Electronic Monitoring 189 214 227
Enhancement Notification 1,113 1,162 | 1,120

Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts

® The cases in the table represent only those for which the number of the offense was known. In addition, the
following cases were not included: bail forfeiture, deceased, declined, dismissed, not guilty, remanded, and

transferred.
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District Court DUI Data

As shown in the table below, Utah’s District Courts disposed 2,104 DUI cases during
FY 2014, 201 fewer than in FY 2013.

% Change
DUI in Utah’s District Courts FY 2012 | FY 2013 | FY 2014 | FY 13-FY 14
District Court Cases Disposed 2,102 2,305 2,104 -8.7%

Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts

District Court DUI Case Outcomes

The table below shows case outcomes by Judicial District for the 2,104 DUI cases
disposed by Utah’s eight District Courts during FY 2014. Nearly 72 percent of the
cases resulted in a guilty plea or verdict, and the defendant was found not guilty in only
one case. Almost 15 percent of the cases were dismissed. This table is not a depiction
of the District Courts’ actual DUI conviction rates, as it includes only those cases that
were disposed during FY 2014. Pending cases were not included in the data analysis.

FY 2014 District Court DUI Case Outcomes by Judicial District

DUI Case Judicial District

Outcomes 1t [ [ g g [ 5 [ e [ 7 [ gf | Total | Percent
Deceased 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 1| <0.1%
Declined Prosecution 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 1| <0.1%
Dismissed 23| 38| 89| 72| 16, 23| 16| 31 308 | 14.6%
Diversion 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0.0%
Guilty 108 | 284 | 434 | 371 | 77| 69| 59104 1,506 | 71.6%
No Contest 4 5 1| 27 1 1 1 0 40 1.9%
Not Guilty 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1| <0.1%
Plea in Abeyance 1 1 3 4 5 8 1 0 23 1.1%
Remanded 0 3| 68 4 4 1 0 1 81 3.8%
Transferred 3 2| 88| 48 0 0 0 2 143 6.8%
TOTAL 139 | 333|684 | 526 | 104 | 102 | 77 | 139 | 2,104 | 100.0%

Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts

District Court Repeat DUI Offender Data

The District Courts also track how repeat DUI offenders are handled. In the table on
the following page, which includes data for fiscal years 2012, 2013 and 2014, the first
column shows if the offender was charged as a first-time offender or a repeat offender.
The second column indicates how many of those in the first column actually met that
criterion. The last column shows how the offender was sentenced. In FY 2014 for
example, 28 percent of DUI offenders were charged with a third offense, while 22
percent were actually third-time offenders, and 21 percent were sentenced as third-time
offenders. Discrepancies between charges and sentencing are not unusual. An
offender’s sentence is dependent upon the conviction, which may or may not be the
same as the offense charged due to plea bargains or court procedural issues.
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District Court Repeat DUI Offender Data for Fiscal Years 2012-2014°

Offense Was Offense Was Offense Was

Offense Charged As Actually Sentenced As
FY12 | FY13 | FY14 | FY12 | FY13 | FY14 | FY12 | FY13 | FY 14
1% Offense 46% 49% 50% 47% 52% 50% 52% 56% 56%
2" Offense 18% 16% 17% 21% 18% 22% 19% 18% 19%
3" Offense 30% 31% 28% 25% 25% 22% 25% 23% 21%
4 Ch)ffenhse 3% 1% 4% 3% 1% 4% 2% 1% 3%

t i
5 -10 3% 2% 1% 4% 4% 2% 2% 2% 1%
Offense

TOTAL 100% | 100% | 100% | 100% | 100% | 100% | 100% | 100% | 100%

Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts

District Court DUI Case Information and Sanctions
Other DUI-related case information, including sanctions ordered, is also collected by the
District Courts. The table below includes the FY 2014 data for those cases where the
values were known. The table shows judges ordered offenders to participate in an
educational series in 258 cases, ordered substance use disorder treatment in 616
cases, and that ignition interlock devices were ordered in 265 cases.

District Court DUI Case Information and Sanctions | FY 2012 | FY 2013 | FY 2014
Blood/Breath Alcohol Content (BAC) Known 462 455 411
Substance Use Disorder Screening and Assessment 623 693 622
Substance Use Disorder Treatment Ordered 613 630 616
Educational Series Ordered 303 308 258
Ignition Interlock Ordered 246 275 265
Supervised (Non-Court) Probation 793 887 830
Electronic Monitoring 101 116 109
Enhancement Notification 100% | 100% | 100%
Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts

The DUI Sentencing Matrix included at the end of this report provides detailed information
regarding DUI offense classifications and sanctions.

® The cases in the table represent only those for which the number of the offense was known. In addition, the
following cases were not included: bail forfeiture, deceased, declined, dismissed, not guilty, remanded, and

transferred.
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Driver License Control

The Department of Public Safety’s Driver License Division is required to suspend or
revoke the license of a person who has been convicted or sanctioned for the following:

e Driving under the influence

e Driving with any measurable controlled substance metabolite in the body
e Not a Drop violation

e Refusal to submit to a chemical test

e Automobile homicide

e “No-alcohol” conditional license

e Alcohol restricted driver (ARD) violation

Interlock restricted driver (IRD) conviction

Alcohol Hearing Statistics

When a driver is arrested for DUI, the license is taken and a 30-day temporary license
is issued. Drivers may request a license hearing within 10 days, and the Driver License
Division must schedule the hearing within the 30-day period of the temporary license.
As shown in the table below, there were 4,464 requested alcohol hearings held in

FY 2014. The Division is unable to take any action against a driver if the arresting
officer does not appear at the hearing. To improve appearance rates, the Division
offers a telephonic option whereby officers or offenders can phone in for the hearing.

In 2,293 of the cases, at least one of the parties called in for the hearing.

FY 2014 Alcohol Hearing Statistics

Total # of No No Officer Other Total Total
NED Caels Hearings | Officer | Telephonic | No Action | No Action | Telephonic
Per Se 3,826 793 228 512 1,305 1,972
Not a Drop 147 32 8 11 43 84
Refusal 491 84 25 40 124 237
TOTAL 4,464 909 261 563 1,472 2,293

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division
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Screening, Assessment,
Education and Treatment

Screening and Assessment

As part of any sentence for a DUI offense, Utah law requires offenders to
participate in a screening and, if indicated by the screening, an assessment. A
screening involves gathering information that is used to determine if an individual
has a problem with alcohol and/or other substance abuse, and if so, whether an in-
depth clinical assessment is appropriate. An assessment is a collection of detailed
information concerning the individual’s alcohol and/or other substance abuse,
emotional and physical health, social roles, and other relevant areas of the
individual's life. The assessment is used to determine the need for substance use
disorder treatment.” The following table shows the orders for substance use
disorder screening and assessment by the District and Justice Courts in FY 2014,
for those cases where the values were known.

Substance Use Disorder Screening and
Assessment Ordered by the Courts Fy 2012 | FY 2013 | FY 2014

Justice Courts 3,794 3,456 3,826

District Courts 623 693 622

Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts

Education

For a first DUI offense and for a second offense within 10 years, the sentence must
include participation in an educational series if the court does not order treatment.

The purpose of DUI education is to “address any problems or risk factors that appear to

" Center for Substance Abuse Treatment, Screening and Assessment for Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse
Among Adults in the Criminal Justice System, Treatment Improvement Protocol (TIP) Series, #7.
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be related to use of alcohol and other drugs and attempt to help the individual recognize
the harmful consequences of inappropriate use, with special emphasis placed on the
dangers of drinking and driving.” Utah DUI offenders sentenced to an educational
series attend the PRIME For Life® (PFL) program developed by the Prevention
Research Institute (PRI). “PRIME For Life® is a motivational intervention that provides
education and strategies for individuals who have experienced problems due to high-
risk alcohol or drug use. PFL is an interactive experience designed to motivate and
guide individuals toward making low-risk choices and adopting more accurate beliefs
about personal risk that will support those low-risk choices. The program provides
research-based, low-risk guidelines and assists participants in making choices to best
protect what they value.”

The following table shows the orders for the educational series by the Justice and
District Courts in FY 2014, for those cases where values were known.

Educational Series Ordered by the Courts | FY 2012 | FY 2013 | FY 2014

Justice Courts 3,066 2,629 2,494

District Courts 303 308 258

Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts

Treatment

For a first and second DUI offense, the court may order treatment; for a third or
subsequent offense within 10 years, the court must order substance use disorder
treatment. “Treatment involves the application of planned procedures to identify and
change patterns of behavior that are maladaptive, destructive, and/or injurious to
health; or to restore appropriate levels of physical, psychological and/or social
functioning. DUI offenders assessed as meeting the diagnostic criteria for a substance
use disorder should participate in a treatment program in addition to, or in lieu of, the
educational course.”® Treatment should address both alcohol and other substance
use disorders. The level of treatment needed (e.g., day treatment, outpatient, intensive
outpatient, residential) is determined by the assessment on the basis of the severity of
the substance use disorder. The table below shows the orders for substance use
disorder treatment by the Justice and District Courts in FY 2014, for those cases
where the values were known.

Substance Use Disorder Treatment
Ordered by the Courts FY 2012 | FY 2013 | FY 2014

Justice Court 2,409 2,144 2,156

District Court 613 630 616

Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts

8 Utah Sentencing Commission, DUI Best Sentencing Practices Guidebook, 2003.

9Stafford, P., Beadnell, B., Rosengren, D.B., Carter-Lunceford, C., & Huynh, H. (2012, April). PRIME For Life
UTAH 2011 Evaluation Report Executive Summary. Lexington, KY: Prevention Research Institute.

1% ytah Sentencing Commission, DUI Best Sentencing Practices Guidebook, 2003.

28



TWELFTH ANNUAL DUI REPORT TO THE UTAH LEGISLATURE

Impaired
Driving Media
Camypaign
s
-\~ W
DRIVE SOBER OR
GET PULLED OVER

—
Utah’s Impaired Driving

Media Campaign

The Utah Department of Public Safety’s Highway
Safety Office conducts a statewide mass media

campaign that supports planned DUI saturation “ AT |
patrols, melding the effort into these successful, . _ ;‘)g%%‘%
high visibility enforcement efforts. The primary P £ ?'O'l‘ ) ﬂﬁ

J

goal of this media campaign is to reduce the ;‘"”"
incidence of impaired driving in Utah by raising B
awareness of the dangers of driving under the
influence. The campaign focuses on community mobilization, bringing
together law enforcement, media, local businesses, and community (
officials to share the prevention message and curb impaired driving.
The campaign also aims to educate Utah’s citizens about DUI, one of
America’s most often committed and
deadliest crimes. http://drivesober.org/
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UTAH DUI SENTENCING MATRIX
MISDEMEANOR DUI

Court-Ordered

Sentencing

(Current as of May 13, 2014)

FIRST OFFENSE

SECOND OFFENSE
WITHIN 10 YEARS

FELONY DUI

CLASSIFICATION
(841-6a-503)

CLASS B MISDEMEANOR

CLASS A MISDEMEANOR:

o if bodily injury*

o if passenger is under 16

o if passenger is under 18
and driver is 21 or older

CLASS B MISDEMEANOR

CLASS A MISDEMEANOR:

o if bodily injury*

e if passenger under 16

o if passenger is under 18
and driver is 21 or older

THIRD DEGREE FELONY

o if third or subsequent offense
within 10 years

o if serious bodily injuryl

o if any prior felony DUI
conviction or automobile
homicide® conviction

Jail
(§41-6a-505)

SHALL order:
48 consecutive hours OR
48 hours compensatory
service OR 48 hours
electronic home confinement?

SHALL order:
240 consecutive hours OR
240 hours compensatory
service OR 240 hours

electronic home confinement?

SHALL order:
0-5 year prison term OR
1,500 hours jail (62.5 days)
OR 1,500 hours electronic
home confinement

Fine, Surcharge,
and Court
Security Fee

(841-6a-505)

SHALL order:
$700 minimum fine plus a
$630 surcharge plus a
$40 court security fee

SHALL order:
$800 minimum fine plus a
$720 surcharge plus a
$40 court security fee

SHALL order:
$1,500 minimum fine plus a
$1,350 surcharge plus a
$40 court security fee, unless

(851-9-401) a 0-5 prison term is imposed
Screening, SHALL order: SHALL order: SHALL order:

Assessment, e Screening e Screening e Screening

Educational e Assessment (if found » Assessment (if found e Assessment

Series appropriate by screening) appropriate by screening) e Intensive treatment or
Treatrﬁent ¢ Educational series, unless ¢ Educational series, unless inpatient treatment and

(841-6a-505)

treatment is ordered
MAY order:
¢ Treatment

treatment is ordered
MAY order:
e Treatment

aftercare for not less than
240 hours, unless 0-5 prison
term is imposed

Probation®

MAY order supervised

SHALL order supervised

SHALL order supervised

@A robation robation probation if 0-5 prison term is
(841-6a-507) P P not imposed
Ignition MAY order: MAY order: MAY order:
Interlock? e |gnition interlock e Ignition interlock e |gnition interlock

(841-6a-518)
(841-6a-530)

SHALL order:

¢ Interlock if under 21

e Interlock for an ARD®
violation OR describe on the
record why such order not
appropriate

SHALL order:

¢ Interlock if under 21

e Interlock for an ARD®
violation OR describe on
the record why such order
not appropriate

SHALL order:

¢ Interlock if under 21

e Interlock for an ARD®
violation OR describe on
the record why such order
not appropriate

High BAC
(.16 or higher)

(841-6a-505)

SHALL order:

e Supervised probation3

¢ Treatment and interlock
and/or ankle attached
continuous transdermal
alcohol monitoring device
and/or electronic home
confinement® OR describe
on the record why such
order(s) not appropriate

SHALL order:

e Supervised probation3

¢ Treatment and interlock
and/or ankle attached
continuous transdermal
alcohol monitoring device
and/or electronic home
confinement® OR describe
on the record why such
order(s) not appropriate

SHALL order:

e Supervised probation3 if 0-5
prison term Is not imposed

e Treatment and interlock”
and/or ankle attached
continuous transdermal
alcohol monitoring device
and/or electronic home
confinement® OR describe
on the record why such
order(s) not appropriate

Driver Li(_:ense
Suspension

(841-6a-509)

Court MAY order additional
90 days, 120 days, 180 days,
one year or 2 years

Court MAY order additional 90
days, 120 days, 180 days, one
year or 2 years

Court MAY order additional
90 days, 120 days, 180 days,
one year or 2 years

A person is guilty of a separate offense for each victim suffering bodily injury, serious bodily injury or death, whether or not the injuries arise from the

same episode of driving.

2See §41-6a-506 for electronic home confinement provisions.
Supervised probation is also required for all violations of §41-6a-517 (driving with any measurable controlled substance or metabolite in the body).
“Adoption of the ignition interlock restricted driver (IRD) provision (§41-6a-518.2) does not change the obligation of judges to impose interlock as a

condition of probation.

SAlcohol restricted driver




The following statutory provisions also apply to DUI offenders, although they do not require a

court order.

Statutory
Provisions

Failure to comply carries additional criminal sanctions.

FIRST OFFENSE

SECOND OR SUBSEQUENT
OFFENSES WITHIN 10 YEARS

Driver License Denial, Suspension, or Revocation

Driving Under
the Influence/
DUI Conviction

(841-6a-509)

If 21 or older: 120 days

If 19-20: Longer of one year or until 21
birthday

If under 19: Until 21* birthday

Early License Reinstatement for Drivers Under 21:

Court may order shortening of the suspension period after 6 months if
the person completes a screening; completes an assessment if
appropriate; completes an education series or substance abuse
treatment, as deemed appropriate by the court; has not been convicted
of a violation of a motor vehicle law during the suspension period; has
complied with all terms of probation or all court orders if not ordered to
probation; and provides a sworn statement to the court that the person
has not unlawfully consumed alcohol during the suspension period.

If 21 or older: 2 years
If 19-20: Longer of 2 years or until 21* birthday

If under 19: Until 21* birthday

Driving with
Controlled
Substance/
Metabolite in
Body Conviction
(841-6a-517)

If 21 or older: 120 days

If 19-20: Longer of one year or until 21
birthday

If under 19: Until 21* birthday

Early License Reinstatement for Drivers Under 21:

Same as above, but sworn statement must include the person has not
consumed a controlled substance not prescribed by a practitioner
during the suspension period.

If 21 or older: 2 years

If 19-20: Longer of two years or until 21%
birthday

If under 19: Until 21% birthday

Refusal of
Chemical Test

(841-6a-521)

If 21 or older: 18 months

If under 21: Longer of 2 years or until 21
birthday

If 21 or older: 36 months

If under 21: Longer of 36 months or until 21
birthday

Per se Arrest
(853-3-223)

> .08 BAC, impaired to
degree unsafe to drive,
operating with metabolite of
drug in system

If 21 or older: 120 days
If under 21: 6 months

If 21 or older: 2 years

If under 21: Longer of 2 years or until 21
birthday

Not A Drop
(853-3-231)

A person under 21 may not
operate a vehicle or
motorboat with detectable
alcohol in body

If under 21: Until successful completion of
substance abuse program recommendation, but
not less than 6 months

If under 21: Until successful completion of
substance abuse program recommendatlon and
the longer of 2 years or until 21* birthday

Failure to Install or Removal
of Ignition Interlock Device

(853-3-1007)

An individual who is an interlock restricted driver (IRD) shall have their driving privilege
suspended until they have had an ignition interlock device installed in their vehicle.
interlock device is removed prior to the ending date of the interlock restriction period, the driver
license shall be re-suspended until an ignition interlock device is re-installed. This suspension
may be imposed in addition to other license sanctions as listed above.

If the

Other Sanctions

IRD — Interlock
Restricted
Driver
(§41-6a-518.2)

An “interlock restricted
driver” may not operate a
motor vehicle without an
ignition interlock system.

« 18 months IRD for 1* DUI (§41-6a-502) if over 21

e 3 years IRD for 1% Driving Without Ignition Interlock Device if IRD (§41-6a-518.2), Refusal to Submit to
Chemical Test (§41-6a-521), or 1% DUI (§41-6a-502) if under 21

e 3 years IRD for a combination of two of the following within 10 years: DUI (§41-6a-502), Refusal to Submit to
Chemical Test (841-6a-521), Controlled Substance/Metabolite (§41-6a-517), Alcohol-Related Reckless (841-
6a-512 — only violations prior to July 1, 2008), Impaired Driving (841-6a-502.5), Driving with Controlled
Substance/Bodily Injury or Death (858-37-8(2)(g)), or Automobile Homicide (§76-5-207)

e 6 years IRD for Felony DUI (841-6a-502)
¢ 10 years IRD for Automobile Homicide (876-5-207)

Note: Abeyances count as convmnons as defined in 841-6a-501, if all offenses are for Controlled Substance/Metabolite convictions, IRD does not apply

ARD — Alcohol
Restricted
Driver

(841-6a-529)

An “alcohol restricted driver”
may not operate or be in
actual physical control of a
vehicle with any measurable
or detectable amount of
alcohol in the person’s
body.

e 2 years ARD for 1 DU (841-6a-502), Alcohol- Related Reckless (only violations prior to July 1, 2008), or

Impaired Driving (§41-6a-502.5)
e 2 years ARD for any Per se offense (853-3-223)

¢ 3 years ARD for any driving without an IID if an IRD (§41-6a-518.2) or driving with alcohol in body if an ARD

(841-6a-530) offense

e 5 years ARD for 1 Refusal to Submlt to Test (841-6a-521) or Class A misdemeanor DUI (841-6a-502)

e 10 years ARD for 2" 4 offense, if 2" offense is DUI (841-6a-502), Alcohol-Related Reckless (only violations
prior to July 1, 2008), Impaired Driving (§41-6a-502.5), or Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test (841-6a-521);
and 1* offense is DUI (§41-6a-502), Alcohol-Related Reckless (only violations prior to July 1, 2008), or

Impaired Driving (§41-6a-502.5)

e Lifetime ARD for any Felony DUI (§41-6a-502) or Automobile Homicide (§76-5-207)

Note: Abeyances count as convictions as stated in §53-3-229, excluding ARD and IRD abeyances; if Per se is drug only or metabolite, ARD does not apply.







g@cn

Utah Commission
on Criminal and
Juvenile Justice

CCJlJ
Utah State Capitol Complex
Senate Office Building, Suite 330
P.O. Box 142330
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-2330
Phone: 801-538-1031 « Fax: 801-538-1024
http://justice.utah.gov



http://justice.utah.gov/

	DUI-Related Fatalities in Calendar Year 2013
	Law Enforcement:  Arrests
	Courts:  Adjudications and Sanctions
	Driver License Control
	Assessment, Education and Treatment
	Purpose of the Report
	H.B. 15 Driver License Suspension Amendments
	Representative Douglas V. Sagers
	Representative Gregory Hughes
	Representative Ronda Rudd Menlove
	Appropriation
	Alcoholic Beverage and Substance Abuse Enforcement and Treatment Restricted Account
	DUI Arrests
	DUI Arrests by Violation Type
	DUI Overtime Enforcement Events
	DUI Arrests by Agency Type
	DUI Arrests by Gender
	DUI Arrests by Age
	DUI Arrests by Blood/Breath Alcohol Concentration (BAC)
	DUI Arrests by Month
	DUI Arrests by County
	DUI-Related Crashes, Injuries and Fatalities
	The following table shows the number of DUI-related vehicle crashes, injuries and fatalities involving drugs only (no alcohol or BAC less than .08) for available years.  The most common types of drugs found in fatal drug-related crashes were stimulant...
	The figure below illustrates the trend in Utah’s DUI/drug-related crash fatalities from calendar years 2007 through 2013.
	Rates of DUI-Related Fatalities by Population and Vehicle Miles Traveled
	Use of State Beer Tax Funds for DUI Law Enforcement
	Justice Court DUI Data
	Justice Court DUI Cases and Outcomes
	Justice Court Repeat DUI Offender Data
	Justice Court DUI Case Information and Sanctions
	District Court DUI Data
	District Court DUI Case Outcomes
	District Court Repeat DUI Offender Data
	District Court DUI Case Information and Sanctions
	Alcohol Hearing Statistics
	Screening and Assessment
	Education
	Treatment
	2014 DUI Sentencing Matrix FINAL.pdf
	CLASSIFICATION

	Page 19.pdf
	DUI-Related Fatalities in Calendar Year 2013
	Law Enforcement:  Arrests
	Courts:  Adjudications and Sanctions
	Driver License Control
	Assessment, Education and Treatment
	Purpose of the Report
	H.B. 15 Driver License Suspension Amendments
	Representative Douglas V. Sagers
	Representative Gregory Hughes
	Representative Ronda Rudd Menlove
	Appropriation
	Alcoholic Beverage and Substance Abuse Enforcement and Treatment Restricted Account
	DUI Arrests
	DUI Arrests by Violation Type
	DUI Overtime Enforcement Events
	DUI Arrests by Agency Type
	DUI Arrests by Gender
	DUI Arrests by Age
	DUI Arrests by Blood/Breath Alcohol Concentration (BAC)
	DUI Arrests by Month
	DUI Arrests by County
	DUI-Related Crashes, Injuries and Fatalities
	The following table shows the number of DUI-related vehicle crashes, injuries and fatalities involving drugs only (no alcohol or BAC less than .08) for available years.  The most common types of drugs found in fatal drug-related crashes were stimulant...
	The figure below illustrates the trend in Utah’s DUI/drug-related crash fatalities from calendar years 2007 through 2013.
	Rates of DUI-Related Fatalities by Population and Vehicle Miles Traveled
	Use of State Beer Tax Funds for DUI Law Enforcement
	Justice Court DUI Data
	Justice Court DUI Cases and Outcomes
	Justice Court Repeat DUI Offender Data
	Justice Court DUI Case Information and Sanctions
	District Court DUI Data
	District Court DUI Case Outcomes
	District Court Repeat DUI Offender Data
	District Court DUI Case Information and Sanctions
	Alcohol Hearing Statistics
	Screening and Assessment
	Education
	Treatment

	IN PROCESS 2014 DUI Annual Report.pdf
	DUI-Related Fatalities in Calendar Year 2013
	Law Enforcement:  Arrests
	Courts:  Adjudications and Sanctions
	Driver License Control
	Assessment, Education and Treatment
	Purpose of the Report
	H.B. 15 Driver License Suspension Amendments
	Representative Douglas V. Sagers
	Representative Gregory Hughes
	Representative Ronda Rudd Menlove
	Appropriation
	Alcoholic Beverage and Substance Abuse Enforcement and Treatment Restricted Account
	DUI Arrests
	DUI Arrests by Violation Type
	DUI Overtime Enforcement Events
	DUI Arrests by Agency Type
	DUI Arrests by Gender
	DUI Arrests by Age
	DUI Arrests by Blood/Breath Alcohol Concentration (BAC)
	DUI Arrests by Month
	DUI Arrests by County
	DUI-Related Crashes, Injuries and Fatalities
	The following table shows the number of DUI-related vehicle crashes, injuries and fatalities involving drugs only (no alcohol or BAC less than .08) for available years.  The most common types of drugs found in fatal drug-related crashes were stimulant...
	The figure below illustrates the trend in Utah’s DUI/drug-related crash fatalities from calendar years 2007 through 2013.
	Rates of DUI-Related Fatalities by Population and Vehicle Miles Traveled
	Use of State Beer Tax Funds for DUI Law Enforcement
	Justice Court DUI Data
	Justice Court DUI Cases and Outcomes
	Justice Court Repeat DUI Offender Data
	Justice Court DUI Case Information and Sanctions
	District Court DUI Data
	District Court DUI Case Outcomes
	District Court Repeat DUI Offender Data
	District Court DUI Case Information and Sanctions
	Alcohol Hearing Statistics
	Screening and Assessment
	Education
	Treatment


